# OFFICIAL

## SWEARING - IN CEREMONIES

## FOR

## MAYOR - ELECT PETER J. KELLY

## MEMBERS OF HALIFAX REGIONAL COUNCIL

#### AND

# HALIFAX REGIONAL SCHOOL BOARD

NOVEMBER 7, 2000

November 7, at 6:00 p.m. marked the official Swearing-In ceremonies of the Halifax Regional Council and the Halifax Regional School Board, at Alderney Landing, Dartmouth, as a result of a regular election held on October 21, 2000.

Following the official procession, the meeting was called to order by Ms. Kate Carmichael, MC, with the reading of the Invocation.

Following introduction of Justices Suzanne Hood and A. David MacAdam, present to officiate, the Municipal Clerk, as Returning Officer, declared the election results, and the official Swearing-In ceremony commenced.

Members of Halifax Regional Council sworn in by Justice Suzanne Hood were:

<u>Mayor</u>

Peter J. Kelly

#### **Councillors**

- District 1 Eastern Shore Musquodoboit Valley
- District 2 Waverley Dutch Settlement
- District 3 Preston Porter's Lake
- District 4 Cole Harbour North Cherry Brook
- District 5 Eastern Passage Cole Harbour South
- District 6 Westphal Waverley Road
- District 7 Woodlawn
- District 8 Woodside
- District 9 Albro Lake Harbourview
- District 10 Dartmouth Centre
- District 11 Halifax North End
- District 12 Halifax Downtown
- District 13 Northwest Arm South End
- District 14 Connaught Quinpool
- District 15 Fairview Clayton Park
- District 16 Prince's Lodge Clayton Park West
- District 17 Purcell's Cove Armdale
- District 18 Spryfield Herring Cove
- District 19 Upper Sackville Beaver Bank
- District 20 Lower Sackville
- District 21 Bedford
- District 22 Hammonds Plains Timberlea
- District 23 St. Margaret's Bay Prospect

Stephen K. Streatch Gary B. Hines Keith Colwell Ron Cooper Harry McInroy Brian Warshick Condo Sarto **Bruce Hetherington** Jim Smith John Cunningham Jerry Blumenthal Dawn Marie Sloane Sue M. Uteck Sheila Fougere **Russell Walker** Diana Whalen Linda Diane Mosher Stephen Douglas Adams Brad Johns Robert P. Harvey Len Goucher Reginald Rankin Gary G. Meade

Members of the Halifax Regional School Board sworn in by Justice A. David MacAdam were:

| District 1                  | Eastern Shore - Musquodoboit Valley                          | Rob Monk          |
|-----------------------------|--|-------------------|
| District 2                  | Fairview - Clayton Park<br>Princes Lodge - Clayton Park West | Jeff Campbell     |
| District 3                  | Waverley - Dutch Settlement<br>Bedford                       | Peggy Draper      |
| District 4                  | Upper Sackville - Beaver Bank                                | Paul Russell      |
| District 5                  | Purcell's Cove - Armdale<br>Spryfield - Herring Cove         | Carolyn McFarlane |
| District 6                  | Hammonds Plains - Timberlea<br>St. Margaret's Bay - Prospect | Michael Flemming  |
| District 7                  | Lower Sackville  | Wade Marshall     |
| District 8                  | Westphal - Waverley Road<br>Woodlawn                         | Debra M. Barlow   |
| District 9                  | Albro Lake - Harbourview<br>Dartmouth Centre                 | Sandra Everett    |
| District 10                 | Eastern Passage - Cole Harbour South<br>Woodside             | Grace Walker      |
| District 11                 | Halifax North End<br>Halifax Downtown                        | David Driscoll    |
| District 12                 | Northwest Arm - South End<br>Connaught - Quinpool            | Howie Gorman      |
| District 13                 | Preston - Porter's Lake<br>Cole Harbour North - Cherry Brook | Bernadette Reid   |
| African Nova Scotian Member |  | Douglas Sparks    |

His Worship Mayor Peter J. Kelly acknowledged former Mayor Fitzgerald, present in the audience. Mayor Kelly said he looked forward to working to bring Halifax Regional Municipality together for the benefit of all.

Following remarks by Mayor Kelly, and singing of God Save the Queen, the meeting adjourned at 7:10 p.m.

Vi Carmichael Municipal Clerk