# SPECIAL HALIFAX REGIONAL COUNCIL MINUTES March 8, 2007

PRESENT: Mayor Peter Kelly

Councillors: Steve Streatch

Krista Snow Gloria McClu

Gloria McCluskey Andrew Younger Bill Karsten Mary Wile

Patrick Murphy Dawn Sloane Russell Walker Steve Adams Brad Johns Robert Harvey Gary Martin Reg Rankin

REGRETS: Councillors: Becky Kent

Linda Mosher Gary Meade

ABSENT: Deputy Mayor Sue Uteck

Councillors: David Hendsbee

Harry McInroy Jim Smith Sheila Fougere Debbie Hum

STAFF: Mr. Dan English, Chief Administrative Officer

Ms. Mary Ellen Donovan, Municipal Solicitor

Ms. Jan Gibson, Municipal Clerk

Ms. Jennifer Weagle, Legislative Assistant

TA	٩BI	_E	OF	COI	VΤ	ΈN	NTS

1.	INVOCATION	03
2.	APPROVAL OF THE ORDER OF BUSINESS AND APPROVAL OF ADDITIONS AND DELETIONS	03
3.	COMMONWEALTH GAMES	03
4	AD.IOURNMENT	03

#### 1. <u>INVOCATION</u>

The meeting was called to order at 12:32 p.m. with the Invocation being led by Councillor McCluskey.

## 2. <u>APPROVAL OF THE ORDER OF BUSINESS AND APPROVAL OF ADDITIONS AND DELETIONS</u>

The agenda was agreed upon as presented.

#### 3. **COMMONWEALTH GAMES**

The following item was addressed at an earlier In Camera session and was now before Council for ratification.

Councillor Rankin assumed the chair.

#### MOVED by Mayor Kelly, seconded by Councillor Streatch, that:

- 1. Given that the three government funding partners cannot collectively close the significant funding gap, as would be required to successfully host the 2014 Commonwealth Games; Halifax Regional Council advise the H2014 Board of Directors, CG Canada and the CG Federation that HRM is not prepared to fund the cost of hosting the Commonwealth Games in 2014 and further advise the H2014 Board of Directors to discontinue the bid process; and that
- 2. Halifax Regional Council authorize the Mayor to communicate this message formally to the affected agencies and publicly prior to ratification at Regional Council.

#### MOTION PUT AND PASSED (12 in favour, 3 against)

Those voting in favour were: Mayor Kelly, Councillors Streatch, Snow, McCluskey, Younger, Murphy, Sloane, Walker, Adams, Johns, Martin, and Rankin.

Those voting against were: Councillors Karsten, Wile, and Harvey.

Deputy Mayor Uteck, and Councillors Hendsbee, McInroy, Smith, Fougere, and Hum were absent from the meeting.

### 4. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 12:35 p.m.

Jan Gibson Municipal Clerk