Skip to content. Accessibility info.

News Archives

Media Room

Public Service Announcement

Bedford Revives "Volunteer of the Year" Awards

(Wednesday, April 3/2002)-- Who will be Bedford's "Volunteer of the Year" for 2002?

After a six-year hiatus following amalgamation, the community of Bedford has revived its Volunteer of the Year Awards program and will hold an awards dinner this coming Sunday (April 7th) at the Lion's Den, LeBrun Centre, beginning at 7 p.m.

Bedford MLA Peter Christie and Councillor Len Goucher said today the awards dinner will be the first recognition of large numbers of volunteers in the community since HRM was incorporated. Plans are to make it an annual event in Bedford.

The MLA and Councillor, along with a group of residents, established an organizing committee to recognize the high level of voluntarism that exists in their community and to make note of the tremendous benefit the residents of Bedford receive as a result.

Committee members include Mssrs. Christie and Goucher, Ann MacVicar, Roger Gingras, Mick Ryan and Eldridge Densmore.

Members of the media are welcome to attend the dinner/awards ceremony.


Councillor Len Goucher
(902) 476-0021
(902) 832-8902

Honorable Peter Christie
(902) 832-7383 (OFFICE)
(902) 835-8230

Above content last modified Wednesday, May 22, 2024 at 4:36pm.