Skip to content. Accessibility info.

News Archives

Media Room

Public Service Announcement

Bedford "Volunteer of the Year" Awards

(Monday, April 14/2003)-- Austin MacDougall and Mabel Whitman are the recipients of this year's annual "Bedford Volunteer of the Year" Award for 2003. The awards were revived last year after a six-year hiatus following amalgamation.

Mr. MacDougall and Ms. Whitman were honoured jointly at the annual Bedford Awards Dinner recently for their years of dedicated service and commitment to their community. Among the special guests were Mayor Peter Kelly, Councillor Len Goucher and Halifax West Member of Parliament Geoff Regan.

Mayor Kelly said "The investment of time, energy and goodwill on the part of the dedicated volunteers of our community contributes significantly to the "quality of life" we enjoy. Our community spirit is one of those intangibles that makes HRM a truly special place. This gesture of recognition is truly deserved."

Bedford MLA Peter Christie, who is also Minister of Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations, said "The purpose of this program is to recognize Bedford residents who give so much volunteer service to the community. We see this event growing in future years and becoming one that is looked forward to with anticipation by all volunteer groups."

Councillor Goucher said "Volunteers are the heart of our community. It is truly fitting that we honour our volunteers each year, because the residents of Bedford owe such a debt of gratitude to these generous individuals who give so freely of their time and make every effort to make our community a better place in which to live."

The MLA and Councillor, along with a group of local residents, established an organizing committee more than a year ago to recognize the high level of voluntarism that exists in their community and to make note of the tremendous benefit the residents of Bedford receive as a result.


Mayor Peter Kelly
(902) 490-4010

Councillor Len Goucher

Honourable Peter Christie
(902) 832-7383 (OFFICE)

Above content last modified Thursday, November 02, 2023 at 11:40am.