Skip to content. Accessibility info.

News Archives

Media Room

Public Service Announcement

Many HRM Sources for Municipal Election Information

(Friday, September 17/04)-- Households throughout Halifax Regional Municipality will soon be receiving voter information in the mail related to the October 16 municipal election.

The information cards will advise residents of their District number (1-23) and where and when they may cast their ballot.

The new District boundaries take effect on November 2, 2004, at which time the newly-elected Regional Council will be sworn-in.

Maps and descriptions of the new District boundaries as available on the HRM website at (click on the Election icon)

Residents may also obtain more information about matters related to the October 16 municipal election by contacting the Municipal Clerk’s Office at 476-8683.

List of District numbers and names attached


John O’Brien
Corporate Communications Officer
(902) 490-6531

HRM Municipal Districts

Effective November 2, 2004

District 1 Eastern Shore - Musquodoboit Valley
District 2 Waverley - Fall River - Beaver Bank
District 3 Preston - Lawrencetown - Chezzetcook
District 4 Cole Harbour
District 5 Dartmouth Centre
District 6 East Dartmouth - The Lakes
District 7 Portland - East Woodlawn
District 8 Woodside - Eastern Passage
District 9 Albro Lake - Harbourview
District 10 Clayton Park West
District 11 Halifax North End
District 12 Halifax Downtown
District 13 Northwest Arm - South End
District 14 Connaught - Quinpool
District 15 Fairview - Clayton Park
District 16 Rockingham - Wentworth
District 17 Purcell’s Cove - Armdale
District 18 Spryfield - Herring Cove
District 19 Middle & Upper Sackville - Lucasville
District 20 Lower Sackville
District 21 Bedford
District 22 Timberlea - Prospect
District 23 Hammonds Plains - St. Margarets


Above content last modified Thursday, November 02, 2023 at 11:40am.