Skip to content. Accessibility info.

News Archives

Media Room

Public Service Announcement

Voter Notifications

(Friday, October 1/04)-- Eligible voters in the October 16 municipal election in Halifax Regional Municipality should have received their Voter Notification letter in the mail at their residence by now.

If, for some reason, some eligible voters did not receive their letters, they are advised to contact the Municipal Clerk’s Election Office at 490-1552, 490-1553, 490-1554 or
476-8683 to receive relevant election information pertaining to their District and where they would go to vote.

The Voter Notification letter advises eligible voters of the District in which they reside, the dates for Advance or Special Polls, and the location of polling stations.

The new District boundaries take effect on November 2, 2004, at which time the newly-elected Regional Council will be sworn-in.

Maps and descriptions of the new District boundaries are available on the HRM website at (click on the Election icon)

Residents may also obtain more information about any matter related to the October 16 municipal election by contacting the Municipal Clerk’s Election Office at 490-1552, 490-1553, 490-1554, 476-8683 or Toll Free at 1-888-476-8683.

List of District Names below.


John O’Brien
Corporate Communications Officer
(902) 490-6531


HRM Municipal Districts
Effective November 2, 2004

District 1 Eastern Shore - Musquodoboit Valley
District 2 Waverley - Fall River - Beaver Bank
District 3 Preston - Lawrencetown - Chezzetcook
District 4 Cole Harbour
District 5 Dartmouth Centre
District 6 East Dartmouth - The Lakes
District 7 Portland - East Woodlawn
District 8 Woodside - Eastern Passage
District 9 Albro Lake - Harbourview
District 10 Clayton Park West
District 11 Halifax North End
District 12 Halifax Downtown
District 13 Northwest Arm - South End
District 14 Connaught - Quinpool
District 15 Fairview - Clayton Park
District 16 Rockingham - Wentworth
District 17 Purcell’s Cove - Armdale
District 18 Spryfield - Herring Cove
District 19 Middle & Upper Sackville - Lucasville
District 20 Lower Sackville
District 21 Bedford
District 22 Timberlea - Prospect
District 23 Hammonds Plains - St. Margarets


Above content last modified Thursday, November 02, 2023 at 11:40am.