Skip to content. Accessibility info.

News Archives



(Wednesday, February 27, 2008) - Halifax, Nova Scotia – On Wednesday, February 27th, RRFB Nova Scotia, along with Halifax Regional Municipality, will honour local winners in the Nova Scotia Recycles School Contest. A celebration dinner will be held at the Brightwood Golf and Country Club from 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm. The winning and runner-up students to be recognized at this event are listed in the attached table.

Every October, RRFB Nova Scotia, in cooperation with the province's 55 municipalities, organizes the Nova Scotia Recycles Contest. This year, students were challenged to consider the 3R's (reduce, reuse and recycle) and composting as they created artwork for cloth bags, designed advertisements using old magazines, created television ads and wrote research essays.

"Thanks to the students and teachers who have shown an overwhelming interest in our contest", says Bill Ring, CEO of RRFB Nova Scotia. "Their enthusiasm and dedication to recycling and composting will help ensure a clean environment for future generations."

Over 8,700 contest entries were received from students in grades primary to twelve. Winners and runners-up were selected in each of Nova Scotia's seven solid waste-resource management regions. More than $ 55,000 in cash and prizes will be awarded to winning students and their schools, including over $20,000 in scholarships for Grade 12 students.

RRFB Nova Scotia would like to thank Mountain Equipment Co-op and Empire Theatres for their continued support of the Nova Scotia Recycles Contest.

For more information, visit or contact:

Alanna McPhee, RRFB Nova Scotia, 902-897-3252 or 902-890-7321
Shannon Betts, Halifax Regional Municipality, 902-490-7153 or 902-476-2470

- 30 -


REGION 4: Halifax Regional Municipality

Grade Winner Runner-Up Runner-Up
Primary-One Ms. Helen Cusack
O'Connell Drive Elementary
Ms. Susan Coffin
Kingswood Elementary

Ms. Daniele Cruickshank
Rockingham Elementary

Katie Martin
Ash Lee Jefferson School
Taylor Prest
Dutch Settlement School
Caitlin MacNeil
Bel Ayr
Four –
Meagan Chaput
Crossroads Academy
Jackie Amirault
Tantallon Elementary School

Megan Murphy
Ecole Beaubassin

Seven – Nine Denisha Reilly, Brigid Cleary, Michaela Title
Gorsebrook Junior High School
Melanie Toner
Ecole Beaubassin
Samantha D'Astou, Kara White, Gabrielle McLaughlin, Olivia McKee-Muir
Ecole Carrefour
Ten-Eleven-Twelve Mitchell Gilroy, Allyson Cole, Shelby Cole, Kevin Hazlehurst
Musquodoboit Rural High School
Nadine Vautour, Melissa Landry, Katia Perez, Christian Allaire
Ecole Carrefour
Twelve Nicole Crozier
Charles P. Allen High School
Sammi Jessome
Lockeview High School



Above content last modified Thursday, November 02, 2023 at 11:40am.